Exceptional Education at the Heart of the Community

Exceptional Education at the Heart of the Community


What is Progress 8?

From 2016 all students and schools will be measured on how much progress they make from when they start year 7 to when they complete their exams at the end of year 11. It is based on progress across 8 subjects across a broad and balanced curriculum.

Scores will always be determined by dividing the student's points total by 10 (the 8 qualifications with English and Mathematics counting for double) regardless of how many qualifications are sat.

Below is a 3 minute video from the DfE to help explain Progress 8 further.


What is Attainment 8?

Attainment 8 is similar to Progress 8, however this measures attainment rather than progress accross the years over the same 8 subjects.

How does the new GCSE assessment system work?

Many of you will know that the courses and exams for GCSE students were recently changed. The reason is to ensure that young people have the knowledge and skills they need to suceed and be graded fairly. They cover more challenging content and are designed to match standards in the strongest educational systems throughout the world.

  • GCSEs in England will have a new scale from 9 (the highest) to 1 (the lowest)
  • The old GCSE grading system do not directly compare, however alignments can be made between the letters A*-F and the Scale 9-1
  • They have been designed this way to differentiate between student performance, and support those students who sit at the top of their grade banding

Please see this short video from AQA to help you understand how the grade system translates.

GCSE and KS4 Subject Examinations Boards

  • AQA GCSE Art & Design
  • AQA GCSE English Language
  • AQA GCSE English Literature
  • AQA GCSE French
  • AQA GCSE Geography
  • AQA GCSE Product Design
  • AQA GCSE Spanish
  • AQA GCSE Religious Studies
  • Edexcel GCSE History
  • Edexcel GCSE Combined Science
  • Edexcel GCSE Mathematics
  • NCFE Level 2 Certificate in Creative Studies: Performance Skills
  • NCFE Level 2 Certificate in Health and Fitness
  • Pearson BTEC Health & Social Care Level 2 First Award
  • Pearson BTEC Music Level 2 First Award
  • WJEC GCSE Film Studies
  • WJEC GCSE Food